Today is the winter solstice in the northern hemisphere – the shortest day (and longest night) of the year and the start of the winter season.The event that also marks the start of summer in the southern hemisphere is made by the axial tilt of the earth and the movement of the planet caused when it orbits in the center of our solar system around the sun

The earth is not sitting upright as it orbits the sun.Instead, it orbits its axis at an inclination of 235 degrees.The northern and southern hemispheres of our planet alternate with sunlight and swap places when it comes to seasons, which is the winter solstice northern hemisphere of the planet as far from the sun as never before

And satellites orbiting the earth give us a unique insight into what this event looks like from space

Happy Solstice! Today we experience the shortest day and longest night of the year in the northern hemisphere 🌃This picture from Meteosat shows our planet this morning just before sunrise in most of Central Europe The exact solstice is at 10:02 UTC / 11:02 CET! 📷 @ eumetsat picTwittercom / ckpzvZ96k6 21 December 2020

In an image from Meteosat, a series of geostationary meteorological satellites operated by the European Organization for the Use of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT), you can see the planet spinning a few hours before the solstice.The image shows Central Europe briefly before sunrise, as Earth approaches the solstice, which occurred at precisely 5:02 a.m. EST (1002 GMT)

Likewise, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s GOES East (GOES-16) satellite, which monitors Earth from space, captured the solstice.In this image, you can see Earth from space at exactly 5 am EST (1000 GMT), just two minutes before the official winter solstice

Today is the shortest day of the longest year ever! Learn some fun facts about the #WinterSolstice, as well as a little bit about #TheGreatConjunction, while enjoying these six-month pictures from #GOESEast, our #ImageoftheDay: https: // t, co / 3xwjHHU9BK picTwittercom / M3IW8zSmSOD 21 December 2020

NOAA also released a breathtaking solstice-to-solstice time-lapse of Earth spanning six months in 2020

The time-lapse image montage extends over a period from 21 June to December 21 as viewed from the GOES East satellite

Email Chelsea Gohd at cgohd @ spacecom or follow her on Twitter @chelsea_gohd Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook

Join our space forums to talk about the latest missions, the night sky, and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community @ spacecom

Space is part of Future US Inc, an international media group and leading digital publisher. Visit our company page

Winter Solstice

World News – FI – Winter Solstice 2020: See, the view of the longest night on earth from space

Source: https://www.space.com/winter-solstice-2020-satellite-view-from-space