The NT declares 10 suburbs in Melbourne as COVID-19 hotspots Arrivals from these suburbs must be placed in the mandatory monitored quarantine

For the latest bushfire information for counties Mundaring, Chittering, Northam, and the city of Swan, northeast of Perth, search ABC Emergency or find your local ABC radio station

The Northern Territory government has declared 10 coronavirus hotspots in the suburbs of Melbourne after a hotel quarantine worker in the city tested positive on Wednesday

From 3:30 p.m. ACST onwards, anyone coming to the Northern Territory from Melbourne, West Melbourne, Noble Park, Keysborough, Springvale, Brighton, Brandon Park, Clayton South, Heatherton or Moorabbin will be in a fortnight Quarantined

Anyone who is already in the Northern Territory and who has been in the Northern Territory since Jan. January has spent time in these areas are also instructed to get tested for COVID-19 and self-isolate until he gets a negative result

“We are always, always careful because we are the safest place in Australia and we want to stay that way,” said Prime Minister Michael Gunner

Mr Gunner said anyone who comes to the Northern Territory by plane from these areas this afternoon will have the option of returning to Melbourne for free or going to quarantine

The new case in Melbourne, a 26-year-old man working as part of the Australian Open hotel quarantine program, resulted in a nightly reintroduction of coronavirus restrictions

“While we don’t know exactly how the man became infected, we do know that the man’s household contacts tested negative and other close contacts were identified, tested, and isolated,” Gunner


“We know that the contact tracking and screening system that Victoria introduced is well established and we have faith in it”

Mr. Gunner said his government would continue to act with caution until further information becomes available

“As we’ve seen across the country and around the world, no one regrets being too careful when it comes to coronavirus,” he said

Northern Territory Chief Health Officer Hugh Heggie said the 10 affected areas were selected using a “targeted approach” based on known exposure sites

“These places of concern, these places of potential exposure are the basis on which we have chosen the suburbs on this occasion,” he said

NT Police recently closed down some road border checkpoints, but Police Commissioner Jamie Chalker said deployments at the NT border with Queensland and South Australia are now resuming

“We have relevant, controllable numbers here as opposed to the many millions who live in some of these cities I think we can coordinate that pretty effectively, “he said

“If you have been to any of these areas, if you have been in contact with anyone who has been to any of these areas, please isolate yourself and seek the test

We recognize the Aboriginal people and the Torres Strait Islander as the first Australians and traditional administrators of the countries where we live, learn and work

This service may contain material from Agence France-Presse (AFP), APTN, Reuters, AAP, CNN, and the BBC World Service that is copyrighted and cannot be reproduced

AEST = Australian Eastern Standard Time, 10 hours before GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)

ABC NEWS melbourne

World news – The government of AU – NT declares 10 coronavirus hotspots in the suburbs of Melbourne