The Brisbane Heat held up their title hopes with a win over the Adelaide Strikers with six wickets in one of the Big Bash League’s featured finals – a stunning catch from Ben Laughlin

In the hunt for 131 on a tricky gabba wicket on Friday night, the heat fluctuated between 3 and 23 and looked for another collapse after losing trump cards to Chris Lynn and Marnus Labuschagne in the first two overs

But Joe Denly (41 of 40) was accompanied by rock-solid Jimmy Peirson, and the couple nearly burst the strikers’ bubble in a 69-run stand that stabilized the ship

Peirson (47 of 44) and Joe Burns (17 of 17), who dropped twice from the first ball, saw them home with six wickets and seven balls remaining

The moment of the game, however, belonged to the Laughlin of the Heat when the veteran bowler got the crowd on their feet with an exceptional catch in the outfield

Michael Neser, facing his first ball, smashed a Labuschagne shipment too far when Laughlin sprinted 25 meters around the border

He set out to pluck the ball horizontally in the air with one hand to get one of the catches of the tournament

The win of the heat was the second of four straights that were needed in the final series to take a second BBL title

The strikers got stuck in their tracks after choosing a bat and only reached 1-53 after 10 overs

Adelaide star Alex Carey fired 101 of just 62 balls a week ago and was at the top of the list in slow motion

He only had nine balls out of 19 at a time and eventually fell for 13 out of 22

Their slow start forced a risky X-Factor replacement from coach Jason Gillespie, who brought in batsman Jonathan Wells at the expense of unused strike bowler Daniel Worrall

The situation has not improved, however Jake Weatherald (32 of 28) lost two balls after the break and Captain Travis Head (12 of 21) also has problems

Labuschagne has taken nine wickets in four BBL games since returning from test service and thanked Ben Laughlin for his most recent performance

We recognize the Aboriginal people and the Torres Strait Islander as the first Australians and traditional administrators of the countries where we live, learn and work

This service may contain material from Agence France-Presse (AFP), APTN, Reuters, AAP, CNN, and the BBC World Service that is copyrighted and cannot be reproduced

AEST = Australian Eastern Standard Time, 10 hours before GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)

BBL Final, Brisbane Heat

World News – AU – Brisbane Heat final win highlighted by phenomenal catch, season over for Adelaide Strikers