Almost every poll had fans giving the sacred trophy to the Alabama wideout, but it was still shocking to see it actually happen. He received 1,856 of the voting points, while Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence received 1,187 votes, and Alabama quarterback Mac Jones received 1,130.

This season, he had 105 receptions, 1,641 receiving yards, and 20 touchdowns (he led the FBS in all three categories). He was also the Offensive MVP at the Rose Bowl. He is the first non-quarterback to win the Heisman since Derrick Henry in 2015.

Smith was beyond gracious in his acceptance speech and even shared some motivating words to young footballers out there:

No doubt the 22-year-old senior out of Amite, Louisiana will be an inspiration to young wideouts and all under-sized athletes across the country.

In high school (Amite HS), Smith was a top recruit but billed at 165. His 40-time was 4.49, great but not elite in the eyes of recruiters. He still performed at a high level and got offers from Alabama, LSU, Georgia, Arkansas, and FSU.

Congrats young man and Roll Tide to @devontasmith_6 on winning the @HeismanTrophy – Welcome to the club!

Heisman Trophy Winners…

2015 – Derrick Henry.
2016 – Lamar Jackson.
2017 – Baker Mayfield.
2018 – Kyler Murray.
2019 – Joe Burrow.

2020 – Devonta Smith.

Remember the name.


News – DeVonta Smith Is The First Wide Receiver To Win The Heisman In Three Decades